SOUTH AFRICAN GOVERNMENT / STATE AND PRIVATE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL TERMS 2018 - 2019

South African Government Schools Terms / Holidays Calendars for 2018 - 2019

South African Public Holidays
Southern African Public Holidays

Please click here to dowlnload a government/ state school and public holidays calendar for 2018 - .xlsx spreadsheet format
Please click here for a school and public holidays calendar image for 2018

2018 South African Government / State School Terms
Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, North West, Northern Cape and  Western Cape. All nine provinces have the same school calendar for 2018.
Term Duration No. of Weeks No. of Days No. of Pub. Hols Actual School Days
1 (15) 17 Jan - 28 Mar 11 (53) 51 1 (52) 50
2 10 Apr - 22 Jun 11 54 2+1 51
3 17 Jul - 28 Sep 11 54 2+1 51
4 9 Oct - 12 (14) Dec 10 (49) 47) 0 (49) 47
Total   43 (210) 206 5+2 (203) 199

Dates and days in brackets ( ) are applicable to educators

Public Holidays 2018

01 January - New Year’s Day
21 March - Human Rights Day
30 March - Good Friday
02 April - Family Day
27 April - Freedom Day
30 April - School Holiday
01 May - Workers' Day
16 June - Youth Day
09 August - National Women’s Day
10 August - School Holiday
24 September - Heritage Day
16 December - Day of Reconciliation
17 December - Public holiday
25 December - Christmas Day
26 December - Day of Goodwill


2019 South African Government School Terms

Please click here to download a government/ state shool and public holidays calendar for 2019 - .xlsx spreadsheet format
Please click here for a government / state school shool and public holidays calendar image for 2019

2019 South African Government / State School Terms
Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, North West, Northern Cape and  Western Cape. All nine provinces have the same school calendar for 2019

Term Duration No. of Weeks No. of Days No. of Pub. Hols Actual School Days
1 (07) 09 Jan - 15 Mar 10 (50) 48 0 (50) 48
2 02 Apr - 14 Jun 11 54 3+0 51
3 09 Jul - 20 Sep 11 54 1+0 53
4 01 Oct - 04 (06) Dec 10 47 (49) 0 (47) 49
Total   42 (207) 203 4+0 (203) 199

Dates and days in brackets ( ) are applicable to educators

Public Holidays 2019

1 January -New Year’s Day
21 March - Human Rights Day
19 April - Good Friday
22 April - Family Day
27 April - Freedom Day
1 May - Workers' Day
16 June - Youth Day
17 June - Public Holiday
9 August - National Women’s Day
24 September - Heritage Day
16 December - Day of Reconciliation
25 December - Christmas Day
26 December - Day of Goodwill

Click here to view the official Government site for school holidays / terms in 2018 - 2019

 

Private / IndependentSchool Terms 2018

4 TERM CALENDAR 2018

Term 1 (50 days)

Start Wednesday 17 January
Close Wednesday 28 March
Public Holidays Wednesday 21 March (Human Rights Day)

Term 2 (46 days)

Start Tuesday 17 April
Close Friday 22 June
Public Holidays Friday 27 April (Freedom Day)
Monday 30 April (School Holiday)
Tuesday 1 May (Workers’ Day)
Saturday 16 June (Youth Day)

Term 3 (47 days)

Start Tuesday 17 July
Close Friday 21 September
Public Holidays Thursday 9 August (Women’s Day)
Friday 10 August (School Holiday)

Term 4 (43 days)

Start Tuesday 9 October
Close Thursday 6 December

Total 186 days and 9 Saturdays

Sourced from http://www.isasa.org/isasa-term-dates/

3 TERM CALENDAR 2018

Term 1 (56 days)
Start Wednesday 17 January
Close Wednesday 11 April
Half Term CLOSE Thursday 1 March*
RETURN Tuesday 6 March
Public Hiolidays Wednesday 21 March (Human Rights Day)

Term 2 (63 days)
Start Wednesday 2 May
Close Friday 3 August
Half Term CLOSE Friday 22 June
RETURN Monday 2 July
Public Hiolidays Saturday 16 June (Youth Day)

Term 3 (65 days)
Start Tuesday 4 September
Close Thursday 6 December
Half Term CLOSE Thursday 18 October*
RETURN Tuesday 23 October
Public Hiolidays Monday 24 September (Heritage Day)

* close at 12h00

Total 184 days and 11 Saturdays

Sourced from http://www.isasa.org/isasa-term-dates/

 

Private / Independent School Terms 2019

4 TERM CALENDAR 2019

Term 1 (46 days)

Start Wednesday 16 January
Close Wednesday 20 March

Term 2 (48 days)

Start Tuesday 9 April
Close Friday 21 June
Half Term CLOSE Friday 26 April (normal time)
RETURN Thursday 2 May
Public Holidays

Friday 19 April (Good Friday)

Monday 22 April (Family Day)

Sunday 16 June (Youth Day)

Monday 17 June (Public Holiday)


Term 3 (48 days)
Start Tuesday 16 July
Close Friday 20 September
Public Hiolidays Friday 9 August (Women’s Day)

Term 4 (44 days)

Start Tuesday 8 October
Close Friday 6 December

Total 186 days and 10 Saturdays

Sourced from http://www.isasa.org/isasa-term-dates/

3 TERM CALENDAR 2019

Term 1 (60 days)

Start Wednesday 16 January
Close Friday 12 April
Half Term CLOSE Thursday 21 February (12h00)
RETURN Tuesday 26 February
Public Holidays Thursday 21 March (Human Rights Day)

Term 2 (62 days)

Start Tuesday 7 May
Close Thursday 8 August
Half Term CLOSE Friday 28 June (normal time)
RETURN Monday 8 July
Public Holidays

Sunday 16 June (Youth Day)

Monday 17 June (Public Holiday)


Term 3 (61 days)
Start Tuesday 10 September
Close Friday 6 December
Half Term CLOSE Thursday 24 October (12h00)
RETURN Tuesday 29 October
Public Hiolidays Tuesday 24 September (Heritage Day)

Total 183 days and 13 Saturdays

Sourced from http://www.isasa.org/isasa-term-dates/


The information on this page has been compiled to the best of our abilities. Please note that the publishers of this website, Blaauwberg Online cc and any of its employees, do not take any responsibility for any errors that may occur in the above data.