SOUTH AFRICAN GOVERNMENT / STATE AND PRIVATE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL TERMS 2020 - 2021

Advertise with a banner advert here - >> more details

South African Government Schools Terms / Holidays Calendars for 2020 - 2021

South African Public Holidays
Southern African Public Holidays

Please click here to dowlnload a government/ state school and public holidays calendar for 2020 - .xlsx spreadsheet format
Please click here for a school and public holidays calendar image for 2020

2020 South African Government / State School Terms
Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, North West, Northern Cape and  Western Cape. All nine provinces have the same school calendar for 2020

National State of Disaster

Please click here for the latest updates re state school terms.

Term Duration No. of Weeks No. of Days No. of Pub. Hols Actual School Days
1 (13) 15 Jan - 20 Mar 10 48 (50) 0 48 (50)
2 31 Mar – 12 Jun 11 54 4 50
3 7 Jul – 18 Sep 11 54 1 53
4 29 Sep – 2 (4)Dec 10 47 (49) 0 47 (49)
Total   42 203 (207) 5 198 (202)

Dates and days in brackets ( ) are applicable to educators

Public Holidays 2020

1 January -New Year’s Day
21 March - Human Rights Day
10 April - Good Friday
13 April - Family Day
27 April - Freedom Day
1 May - Workers' Day
16 June - Youth Day
9 August - National Women’s Day
10 August - Public Holiday
24 September - Heritage Day
16 December - Day of Reconciliation
25 December - Christmas Day
26 December - Day of Goodwill

Click here to view the official Government site for school holidays / terms in 2020 - 2021


2021 South African Government School Terms

2021 South African Government / State School Terms
Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, North West, Northern Cape and  Western Cape. All nine provinces have the same school calendar for 2021

Term Duration No. of Weeks No. of Days No. of Pub. Hols Actual School Days
1 (11) 13 Jan - 26 Mar 11 53 (55) 1 52 (54)
2 07 Apr – 11 Jun 10 48 1+1 46
3 06 Jul – 17 Sep 11 54 1 53
4 28 Sep – 01 (03)Dec 10 47 (49) 0 47
Total   42   3+1 198 (202)

Dates and days in brackets ( ) are applicable to educators

Public Holidays 2021

1 January -New Year’s Day
21 March - Human Rights Day
02 April - Good Friday
05 April - Family Day
26 April - School Holiday
27 April - Freedom Day
1 May - Workers' Day
16 June - Youth Day
9 August - National Women’s Day
10 August - Public Holiday
24 September - Heritage Day
16 December - Day of Reconciliation
25 December - Christmas Day
26 December - Day of Goodwill

Click here to view the official Government site for school holidays / terms in 2020 - 2021

 

Private / Independent School Terms 2020

4 TERM CALENDAR 2020

Term 1 (48 days)

Start Wednesday 15 January
Close Friday 20 March

Term 3 (53 days)
Start Tuesday 07 July
Close Friday 18 September
Public Hiolidays Sunday 9 August (Women’s Day)
Monday 10 August (Public Hol)

Term 2 (42 days)

Start Tuesday 14 April
Close Friday 12 June
Public Holidays

Monday 27 April (Freedom Day)

Friday 1 (Worker's Day)


Term 3 (53 days)
Start Tuesday 07 July
Close Friday 18 September
Public Hiolidays Sunday 9 August (Women’s Day)
Monday 10 August (Public Hol)

Term 4 (42 days)

Start Tuesday 06 October
Close Wednesday 02 December

Total 185 days and 10 Saturdays

Sourced from http://www.isasa.org/isasa-term-dates/

3 TERM CALENDAR 2020

Term 1 (60 days)

Start Wednesday 15 January
Close Thursday 09 April
Half Term CLOSE Thursday 27 February (12h00)
RETURN Tuesday 03 March
Public Holidays Saturday 21 March (Human Rights Day)

Term 2 (58 days)

Start Tuesday 05 May
Close Friday 31 July
Half Term CLOSE Friday 26 June (normal time)
RETURN Monday 06 July
Public Holidays

Tuesday 16 June (Youth Day)


Term 3 (65 days)
Start Tuesday 01 September
Close Friday 04 December
Half Term CLOSE Thursday 15 October (12h00)
RETURN Tuesday 20 October
Public Holidays Thursday 24 September (Heritage Day)

Total 183 days and 12 Saturdays

Sourced from http://www.isasa.org/isasa-term-dates/

 

Private / Independent School Terms 2021

4 TERM CALENDAR 2021

Term 1 (52 days)

Start Wednesday 13 January
Close Friday 26 March
Public HolidayS Sunday 21 March (Human Rights Day)
Monday 22 March (Public Holiday)

Term 2 (41 days)

Start Wednesday 14 April
Close Friday 11 June
Public Holidays

Monday 26 April (School Holiday)

Tuesday 27 April (Freedom Day)

Friday 1 (Worker's Day)


Term 3 (52 days)
Start Wednesday 07 July
Close Friday 17 September
Public Hiolidays Monday 9 August (Women's Day)

Term 4 (42 days)

Start Tuesday 05 October
Close Wednesday 01 December

Total 187 days and 8 Saturdays

Sourced from http://www.isasa.org/isasa-term-dates/

3 TERM CALENDAR 2021

Term 1 (61 days)

Start Wednesday 13 January
Close Wednesday 14 April
Half Term CLOSE Thursday 25 February (12h00)
RETURN Tuesday 02 March
Public Holidays Sunday 21 March (Human Rights Day)
Monday 22 March (Public Holiday)
Friday 2 April (Good Friday)
Monday 5 April (Family Day)

Term 2 (63 days)

Start Wednesday 05 May
Close Friday 06 August
Half Term CLOSE Friday 11 June (normal time)
RETURN Friday 06 August

Term 3 (61 days)
Start Tuesday 07 September
Close Friday 03 December
Half Term CLOSE Thursday 21 October (12h00)
RETURN Tuesday 26 October
Public Holidays Friday 24 September (Heritage Day)

Total 185 days and 10 Saturdays

Sourced from http://www.isasa.org/isasa-term-dates/


The information on this page has been compiled to the best of our abilities. Please note that the publishers of this website, Blaauwberg Online cc and any of its employees, do not take any responsibility for any errors that may occur in the above data.